English
Sears.ca Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC

Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC

Cuisinart® revolutionizes the specialty coffee maker with the fully automatic burr grind and brew coffee maker. It features an integrated burr mill grinder that automatically grinds whole beans just before the coffee is brewed, creating a fresh, delicious taste. Customize your coffee to suit your taste while always having a cup on hand!
Customer Rating:
3.177 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
9 out of 17(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
cyd170
fort saskatchewan alberta
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

makes the best coffee!!

onMarch 26, 2013
yes, it's noisy: it grinds coffee beans
yes, you need to clean it: it grinds coffee beans
yes, it is an amazing cup of coffee: it grinds coffee beans
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
Crossword
NWT
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

Easy coffee by Cuisinart

onMarch 11, 2013
Bought this for my husband as he enjoys a good cup of fresh brewed coffee. I don't drink boiled dirt but sometimes I make it for him. I really like this machine because it is easy to operate. Dump in the beans, pour in the water, and press go.
We had the previous model of this machine for about 8 years so we know it is a long lasting product.
Pros: Easy to use, takes beans built in grinder, Stylish, Easy to clean, keeps coffee warm for a long time
Cons: h2o in back hard to see to fill
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
freshbeans
Newfoundland
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

great coffee!

onJanuary 10, 2013
I use fresh organic coffee beans and enjoy beautiful coffee every morning....can add 1/2 lb of beans at a time so daily measuring isn't required...love love love it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
KLDJS
St. John's, Newfoundland
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Unreliable.

onFebruary 26, 2012
This coffee maker has been trouble since Day 1. We celebrate when it actually works! It works about 1 out of 6 times, at best. Typically, it clogs during/after grinding beans despite regular cleaning. The manual offers some suggestions, which we have followed; however, the problem persists. You would be much better off purchasing a Cuisinart coffee maker without the grind & brew attachment - no complaints about this brand in general, just this model. Very frustrating experience, which is sad because I love my morning coffee!
Pros: Attractive design
Cons: Hard to clean, Breaks easily
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
kinikinik
Hope BC
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

Great Coffee Maker

onSeptember 29, 2011
Owned a Cusinart 10 cup grind/brew machine for 10 yrs and decided to upgrade to this maker. It does a great job, easier to clean, gives the ability to choose the strength of your brew,keeps the coffee hot and holds enough beans for more then 1 pot.Very pleased.
Pros: Easy to clean, High quality, Stain resistant, Attractive design, worth while purchase
Cons: a little pricey watch for sale
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
Phoenix10
Red Deer
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )

Best pre grind coffee maker on the market

onSeptember 24, 2011
We are long time Grind & Brew fans and when our old Cuisirnart died after 7 years we looked around and came back to the newest Cuisinart model. We have had our new Grind and Brew now for 6 months and have had no issues and it has performed great.
Bottom line: If you are more focused on the quality of the coffee experience and less on the convenience the this is the coffee maker for you. If you want fast no work to your coffee experience then get a Single Cup easy serve type...
Pros: Easy to clean, High quality, Stain resistant, Attractive design, great coffee, adjustable brew strengths, holds 5 days worth of beans
Cons: slow to pour, hard to fill from frdige water filter, heavy carafe
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
WCWC
Sherwood Park, AB
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Not recommended

onSeptember 10, 2011
Since purchasing this product, I have discovered that loud high speed burr grinders burn coffee, this one is not an exception to this rule. Burned coffee beans makes bitter coffee. If this is your pleasure, than this is your dream product.
The carafe lid clogs and allows coffee to drain over the counter and onto the floor, so be prepared to have drawers and cabinet doors closed below your coffee maker's location. However, if you soak the lid in very hot water an air hose will help to unclug the vents on a poorly designed lid.
The feature that allows you turn off the noisy high speed grinder has a limited life expectancy. When it begins to make loud popping noises, you know its time to stop using your coffee maker and purchase a different brand.
Pros: none
Cons: not one of man's better inventions
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
CuisiNOT
Fergus
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Not worth it

onSeptember 5, 2011
Requires a lot of cleaning. Cuisinart warranty will cost you when it breaks. You pay all shipping costs to send it to them and have to include money to have them return it to you-they call that good service???
Pros: none
Cons: warranty
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
mommaswid
Saskatchewan
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

Wonderful coffee maker

onAugust 28, 2011
I have had this machine for several months and although I find that I have to sweep the grounds often(how often depends on how strong the coffee is), this is a minor inconvenience. I would guess any coffee grinder would have to be cleaned regularly because of the nature of coffee beans. It's easy to use, clean and I will sometimes find the coffee is still warm(luke warm) almost 24 hours after I made the pot. The insulated carafe keeps the coffee warmer longer when I follow the manufacturers instructions and heat first before brewing. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Simple setting, Easy to use, High quality
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
Ang86
Red Deer, Alberta
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Don't waste your money

onApril 2, 2011
This is the worst coffee maker I have ever bought, you need to clean the grinder everyday or second day as the grounds plug up, the coffee does not stay hot for very long, and it spills coffee all over the counter just about everyday, it's like the machine brews to fast for the lid on the pot so it runs everwhere and also does this if you take the pot out for a cup before it's done brewing
Pros: great idea to grind and brew all in one.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
RegularJoe
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Not Recommended!!!

onDecember 5, 2010
I have had two Cuisinart coffeemakers which were awesome, so you can imagine my disappointment when this model turned out to be very poor. There is no burner, as the "thermal carafe" is supposed to keep the coffee warm for hours, but it only stays hot for maybe a half hour. The latching mechanism on the filter/grinding basket works intermittently...sometimes latching and sometimes not. It is also a lot slower to brew a pot compared to my other two Cuisinarts, one of which was also a grind and brew but not with the burr style grinder. It also sometimes will spill water down the pot as it won't flow thru the thermal carafe lid quick enough as it has a "valve" in it to help keep the heat in and it will gum up over time and is impossible to clean out as you can't take it apart. This really went over well with me in the mornings!!...NOT!Better off to buy a coffee maker without a grinder and buy the grinder as a seperate unit.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not well constructed, no burner
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
kelbri02
Calgary Alberta
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )

Very inconsistant.

onNovember 1, 2010
I went through 2 of these in a 2 month period and the issue was the same with both. When it make good coffee it made AMAZING coffee but it was very inconsistant. If you like rich beans and they are not dry beans but a little on the oily side, it immediately sticks to the grinder sometimes more than others wich leads to inconsistant coffee. It is easy to clean if you use dry beans but didn't work well with my starbucks. I ended up buying a coffee maker and grinder seperately and I am much happier. I have more control over the flavor of my coffee and the grind.
Pros: Stylish
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
Daniegirl
Cantley, Quebec
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )

Cuisinart Grind and Brew

onMay 2, 2010
I had this coffe machine for 2 months and was really amazed at the quality of the coffee, freshly ground. And now, the grinding mechanism does not work at all. I will return it and may try another.
Pros: Easy to clean, Comfortable
Cons: Not well constructed
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
GloH
North York, Ontario
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )

Great Product!

onJanuary 29, 2010
I have been using my Grind & Brew for over a year now. I have never had a coffee maker where I used so many of the options...number of cups, brew strength and timer. All I have to do is add the water, make sure the bean container is full and press start...no more grinding and measuring beans separately.
The grinder is a bit noisy...but you are getting "fresh" ground beans!
I really like this product.
Pros: Comfortable
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
CoffeeLuver
Edmonton Area
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

Great Coffee Maker!!!

onOctober 30, 2009
No need to vacuum grounds....
The Grind area is easily cleaned by removing the filter holder lid close again before cleaning grounds from filter. Remove Hopper Assembly, lift up the tab in the centre of the maker you will see the loose fine grounds, pull tab to the left towards you and use the coffee scoop brush end to push the grounds through to the filter of used grounds.
I've had the same coffee maker with Glass Pot and LOVE IT. it's great to be able to set the grind for how much coffee you want to make and how strong.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Automatic Burr Grind & Brew Thermal™ Coffee Maker, DGB-900BCC
SamB
Victoria
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Cuisinart Junk

onOctober 14, 2009
The grind area must be vacuumed every few days as it clogs up with grind resisue. I have has the machine 8 months and the hopper assembly is already broken and can no longer make a cup of coffee. Buyer beware
1 of 1 found this review helpful.