English
Sears.ca Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sears.ca.

Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner

Only at Sears! single hose unit dehumidifies up to 45 US pints (21.29 L) per day* of moisture fan-only setting dehumidify only setting wide, easy-to-use LCD control panel display 3 fan speeds Autofan function automatically chooses the most suitable fan speed for the room SMART and SLEEP functions 24-hour electronic timer with clock superior warranty: 2-years on parts and labour, 6-years on sealed internal system 19 7/8" w. x 17 1/3" l. x 31 1/2" h. R410A refrigerant gas protects the ozone layer exclusive condensate recirculation system makes it unnecessary to empty a condensation bucket Portable air conditioners do not require permanent installation. They can be moved from room to room but need to be vented outside through a window kit. Permanent installation through a wall is also possible. Dual-hose units help increase the efficiency of the cooling cycle. *Quantity of moisture based on 27˚C (80˚ F) with 50% relative humidity. **Approximate area.
Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
15 out of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
cottagecountry
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

Avoid this unit-it's defective!!

onMay 28, 2009
I had this unit last summer and I cannot believe it's still for sale. I was told by the service department at sears that this item should be recalled. There is a defect in a part near the fan, and the guy told me once it gets just a bit of dust on it , the unit will leak. He said it is virtually impossible to avoid, and that ALL of the units are coming back. We replaced ours at the end of the summer at the cottage and are hoping the new model is better. I was so glad the service tech revealed this to me, and he even helped me pick a model that was better and not on the defective list. We got the 13,000 btu delonghi.
Review 2 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Carley
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
It does a great job of cooling the room, and doesn't block the light from the window. I'm going to buy another unit this year for another room. It's perfect for our old house that is heated with radiators so forced air is not an option.
Review 3 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
Bought this unit Aug 18, it is now leaking all over the carpet. " no need to empty bucket"... right!! I had a service call booked but am holding to cancel. Have decided after reading all the other reports of leaking that I am returning this item. Never again will I purchase from Kenmore. Very disappointed with this item>
Review 4 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
After only 3 months this unit has let me down time after time. It does not keep up during the really hot weather and now is leaking huge amounts of water all over the place. I find the window tube rather mickey mouse as well and seems to be of poor quality. Never again a Kenmore!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
I purchased two of these , one for upstairs and one for downstairs. They have ruined my carpet. They leak water everywhere. I am very unhappy and will be returning both units to the store. maybe one with a bucket would be better at least I would know when it was full and I could empty end. I would not reccomend this unit at all.
st albert alberta
Review 6 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
We purchased this unit in June of this year and it worked awesome until the weather got really hot here, and now it is leaking ALOT of water from the bottom of the unit..although it does cool the rooms in our home very well. We will be taking it back to the store tomorrow for a replacement...
Review 7 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
We purchased this unit in early July and it was great...until recently it started leaking a lot of water, as mentioned in some of the other reviews. We'll have to call for service as well. Hopefully, it can be fixed.
Review 8 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
cvm
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
Great unit so far. Easy to install, and not so bad to move around if you need to. Not much louder than a fan on high speed! Remote is nice but really not needed. The only minor complaint is that the hose could be a little longer for higher windows - but could be easily extended to suit different needs.
Review 9 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
JETHRO
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
I just purchased this unit to replace an older model, I can't believe how quiet it operates!!!! compared to the other one. you only hear the fan, the compressor is quieter than the fan, unbelievable. It cools my apartment down in less than ten minutes, and I love the sleep function. I would recommend this unit to anyone. Thanks Sears
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
Like Amanda, I was impressed with how quickly it cooled my living room down, but as the weather has gotten warmer, my unit is majorly leaking. I too, will be calling for service.
Review 11 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
LondonMommy
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
My husband and I purchased this unit at the beginning of June. We enjoyed how quickly it cooled our room down and how easy it was to install. I don't find the unit any more noisy than a unit we would put in our window. We noticed last night it is leaking A LOT of water out of the bottom and will be calling today to have it serviced. Hopefully it's an easy fix and we don't go for long without it.
Review 12 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
I find this air conditioner to be quiet. The fan is louder than the rotary compressor, so baisically all a person hears is the fan. It is very easy to move around, and has handles on the sides of the unit. It is constructed very well, and much smaller than other portable air conditioners that I have seen, probably because it uses R410a refigerant rather than R22.
I would suggest that any one looking for a portable to give this model a serious look.
Review 13 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
SYED
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
we bought this last week performance is great but a little noisy, i like the no bucket system its hastle free
Review 14 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Un invité
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
Si vous avez eu un dégat d'eau, vous avez probablement un chat ou un chien..... Le poil des animaux obstruent les parties dans la machine.... J'ai eu ce problème et un technicien m'a montré et expliqué..... Si vous avez un animal à poils, soyez avisé que ce n'est peut etre pas l'idéal pour vous Mais pour les autres, l'appareil fonctionne très très bien et est efficace pour une piece de 500 pc....
Review 15 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Un invité
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
J'ai acheté cet appareil il y a un mois et j'ai eu un dégat quatre semaines plus tard. Après l'avoir vidé, un autre dégat le lendemain. Je n'est pas d'animal donc ce n'est pas causé par un obstruction de poil. Après avoir téléphoné le service technique, réponse: ce n'est pas normal et ils ne peuvent pas m'envoyer de technicien pour ce "petit" appareil. Mauvais appareil et mauvais service.
Review 16 for Kenmore Elite(TM/MC) Portable Air Conditioner
Un invité
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )

onApril 30, 2009
Après un dizaine d'utilisation, pour un appareil avec un tel description (système d'élimination de la condensation, plus de seau à vider) il y a un petit drain à l'arrière que l'on doit vider après une saison selon les instructions, que j'ai dû vider, car j'avais un beau dégât d'eau sur mon tapis et après l'avoir vider et remis pendant la journée pour climatiser la chambre en arrivant dans la chambre le soir il y avais encore un plus gros dégât d'eau sur le tapis. Donc n'acheter pas cet article si vous ne vouler pas de dégât d'eau